Jump to main content
Alun Wyn Jones

Alun Wyn Jones will captain the Barbarians against Wales

Barbarians side named to face Wales

There will be plenty of familiar faces in the star-studded Barbarians side to take on Wales at Principality Stadium on Saturday, 4 November.

Share this page:

Welsh fans can expect fireworks a day early with no fewer than six Fijians in the match day 23. And there will be a number of players from Fiji and Australia itching to gain revenge over Jac Morgan’s men after their defeats to Wales at the recent World Cup in France.

Full back Ilaisa Droasese, hooker Tevita Ikanivere, wing Selestino Ravutaumada and prop Peni Ravai were all in the Fijian side that fell to Wales in their opening Pool C match in Bordeaux. The final Fijian is the Bayonne lock Api Ratuniyarawa, who played against Wales at the 2019 World Cup.

DFP – Leaderboard

There are no fewer than five Wallabies who were at the World Cup and who appeared against Wales in the pool stages. Rob Leota moves up a row to pack down alongside Baa-Baas skipper Alun Wyn Jones in the second row, while on the bench are Angus Bell, Tom Hooper, Ben Donaldson, Andrew Kellaway.

Fellow Aussies Taniela Tupou, the front row powerhouse who was ruled out of the Wales game through injury, and centres Len Ikitau and Izaia Perese are in the starting XV. Joining them will be two of the jubilant Argentina side that pipped Wales in the quarter-finals, half backs Nicolas Sanchez and Lautaro Bazan Velez.

Joe Moody, Shaun Stevenson and Asafo Aumua bring a New Zealand flavour to the Baa-Baas selection.

Barbarians v Wales
15 Ilasia Droasese (Fiji)
14. Shaun Stevenson (New Zealand)
13. Len Ikitau (Australia)
12. Izaia Perese (Australia)
11. Selestino Ravutaumada (Fiji)
10. Nicolas Sanchez (Argentina)
9. Simione Kuruvoli (Fiji);
1. Joe Moody (New Zealand)
2. Tevita Ikanivere (Fiji)
3. Taniela Tupou (Australia)
4. Rob Leota (Australia)
5. Alun Wyn Jones (Wales, captain)
6. Justin Tipuric (Wales)
7. Michael Hooper (Australia)
8. Rob Valetini (Australia)

16 Angus Bell (Australia)
17. Asafo Aumua (New Zealand)
18. Peni Ravai (Fiji)
19. Api Ratuniyarawa (Fiji)
20. Tom Hooper (Australia)
21. Lautaro Bazan Velez (Argentina)
22. Ben Donaldson (Australia)
23. Andrew Kellaway (Australia)

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Barbarians side named to face Wales
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners
Barbarians side named to face Wales
Barbarians side named to face Wales
Barbarians side named to face Wales
The Indigo Group
Barbarians side named to face Wales
Papa Johns
Official Suppliers
Barbarians side named to face Wales
Rhino Rugby
Barbarians side named to face Wales
Barbarians side named to face Wales
Princes Gate
Barbarians side named to face Wales
Total Energies
Seat Unique
Castell Howell
Glamorgan Brewing
Ted Hopkins