Jump to main content
Scorch Quiz:Hallam Amos

Ospreys miss out to Munster

Munster clung on to end a run of three successive defeats by beating the Ospreys in Limerick on Saturday.

Share this page:

Four penalties and a drop goal by fly half Jeremy Manning put them 15-0 up before the Ospreys Shaun Connor scurried over for a try, which he converted.

Munster regained their 15-point lead by half-time with No.8 James Coughlan forcing his way over. Ospreys winger Jonny Vaughton darted over for a try and although they closed the gap, Munster held on for the win.

Despite most of their first-choice players being on international duty, Munster raced into that early lead thanks to the kicking of 21-year-old New Zealand born Manning.

The Ospreys hit back with former All Blacks scrum-half Justin Marshall taking a quick tap and offloading to Jason Spice, who sent Connor in for a well-worked try. Munster responded with their only touchdown: Coughlan ploughing over on the end of a five-metre scrum for his first provincial try.

The Ospreys got back within range just five minutes into the second half. A sweet inside pass from Tal Selley sent winger Vaughton through for his first try of the league campaign.

Yellow cards for Spice and Federico Pucciariello – the Munster prop was left bloodied after a clash with Brent Cockbain – disrupted the pattern of the game, but Manning cooled matters with his fifth penalty.

The final quarter saw Connor kick two more penalties but they were not enough to prevent a nervy Munster holding on for victory.

Munster (22) 25
Try: Coughlan
Con: Manning
Pens: Manning (5)
Drop goal: Manning

Ospreys (7) 20
Tries: Connor, Vaughton
Cons: Connor (2)
Pens: Connor (2)

Munster: Payne, Horgan, Mafi, Halstead, Dowling, Manning, O’Leary, D Hurley, Kyriacou, Pucciariello, O’Driscoll, Wyatt, Quinlan, McGann, Coughlan
Replacements: Roche, Buckley, D Ryan, O’Sullivan, O’Meara, Hickey, Murphy

Ospreys: Terblanche, Vaughton, Selley, Spice, Walker, Connor, Marshall, James, B Williams, Millward, Powell, Bateman, Lloyd, Tandy, Tiatia
Replacements: Bennett, Griffiths, Cockbain, Beech, Pugh, Spratt, Byrne

Referee: Ian Heard (SRU).

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Ospreys miss out to Munster
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners
Ospreys miss out to Munster
Ospreys miss out to Munster
Ospreys miss out to Munster
The Indigo Group
Ospreys miss out to Munster
Official Suppliers
Ospreys miss out to Munster
Rhino Rugby
Ospreys miss out to Munster
Ospreys miss out to Munster
Princes Gate
Ospreys miss out to Munster
Total Energies
Seat Unique
Castell Howell
Glamorgan Brewing
Ted Hopkins
Hawes & Curtis
Ospreys miss out to Munster