Jump to main content
Scorch Quiz:Hallam Amos

Morgan honoured

53 years on from when he helped Wales beat the All Blacks, the twinkle-toed outside half was crowned King of the Fifties decade as one of five players selected as the best in their eras. They will now be the first names on the Greatest Ever Welsh Rugby Club team sheet.

Morgan, capped 29 times by Wales and a legendary British Lion in South Africa in 1955, beat off his Cardiff clubmates Bleddyn Williams and Jack Matthews, Newport wing Ken Jones, Llanelli fullback Lewis Jones and five forwards, Clem Thomas (Swansea), Rhys Williams (Llanelli), Courtenay Meredith (Neath), John Gwilliam (Gloucester) and Bryn Meredith (Newport) to the Greatest Ever title from the Fifties.

Still battling back to full fitness after having his voice box removed, Morgan was the last of the five greats to receive his award and picked it up shortly after Bleddyn Williams, who skippered both Cardiff and Wales to victory over New Zealand in 1953, picked up an award for leading his Welsh team to the Greatest Ever Victory.

Former Newport full back Keith Jarrett was named as the scorer of the Greatest Ever Welsh try for his remarkable effort against England in Cardiff on his debut in 1967, while John Dawes was voted the Greatest Ever Welsh Rugby Coach.

The winner of the Greatest Ever Player of the Sixties was Neath back row man Dai Morris, of the Seventies it was Gareth Edwards, Jonathan Davies in the Eighties and Rob Howley in the Nineties.

Share this page:

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Morgan honoured
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners
Morgan honoured
Morgan honoured
Morgan honoured
The Indigo Group
Morgan honoured
Official Suppliers
Morgan honoured
Rhino Rugby
Morgan honoured
Morgan honoured
Princes Gate
Morgan honoured
Total Energies
Seat Unique
Castell Howell
Glamorgan Brewing
Ted Hopkins
Hawes & Curtis
Morgan honoured