Jump to main content
Scorch Quiz:Hallam Amos

Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?

Neath and Munster go head to head on Saturday in this season’s Celtic League final at the Millennium Stadium. (kick-off 2:45pm)

Share this page:

And with nearly 40,000 supporters expected in the Cardiff showpiece stadium, it will be an intriguing contest between two sides that have proved themselves to be the best in Celtic competition.

Munster are hot favourites to lift the crown, but Neath will be cheered on only a few miles from their home ground and have shown this season they have the ability to grind out wins when required.

DFP – Leaderboard

While Neath have largely relied on the boot of Lee Jarvis in this year’s tournament – he has 83 points to date – Munster have utilised the pace in the backs with centre Mike Mullins and winger Mossie Lawlor topping the tournament’s try-scoring charts with six each.

With Neath no longer in the Heineken Cup, Lyn Jones’ side will see this weekend’s final as their best chance of lifting any silverware this season.
Munster have received a timely boost with Ireland and Lions centre Rob Henderson being included in their squad.

Henderson has not played for the Irish province since their Heineken Cup pool defeat to Gloucester at Kingsholm last October when he picked up a bicep injury.

But he played 80 minutes at the weekend and Munster coach Alan Gaffney has added the player to the 22-man squad.

Neath have injury worries to key players, with hooker Steve Jones, backrower Hywel Jenkins and scrum-half Patrick Horgan ruled out of Saturday’s game.


The key battle of the day will be between Lee Jarvis and Ronan O’Gara. We take a closer look at the men who could be kicking their side to Celtic League glory.

Lee Jarvis (Neath)
Position: Outside Half
Height: 6′ 0′
Weight: 14st 7in
Age: 26
International Caps: 1
Celtic League Points: 83

Ronan O’Gara
Position: Outside Half
Height 6′ 0′
Weight: 13 st
Age: 25
International Caps: 27 (275 points for Ireland)
Celtic League Points: 69

Neath: A Durston; G Morris, J Storey, D Tiueti, S Williams; L Jarvis, A Moore; D Jones, B Williams, A Jones, A Newman, G Llewellyn (capt), A Mocelutu, B Sinkinson, N Bonner-Evans. Replacements: A Matthews, A Millward, L Bateman, R Phillips, S Tandy, S Connor, A Bateman.

Munster: J Staunton, J Kelly, M Mullins, J Holland, M Lawlor; R O’Gara, P Stringer; M Horan, F Sheahan, J Hayes, M O’Driscoll, D O’Callaghan, J Williams (capt), A Quinlan, A Foley. Replacements: J Blaney, M Cahill, M Galwey, D Leamy, M Prendergast, R Henderson, K Keane

Partners and Suppliers

Principal Partners
Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?
Official Broadcast Partners
BBC Cymru/Wales
Official Partners
Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?
Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?
Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?
The Indigo Group
Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?
Official Suppliers
Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?
Rhino Rugby
Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?
Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?
Princes Gate
Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?
Total Energies
Seat Unique
Castell Howell
Glamorgan Brewing
Ted Hopkins
Hawes & Curtis
Will It Be Munster Or Neath…?